Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood; Hogarth ISBN 978-0-8041-4129-1

Hag-Seed, by Margaret Atwood, is part of the Hogarth Shakespeare Series in which famous authors write their own version of a Shakespearean play. Hag-Seed is Margaret Atwood’s retelling of The Tempest. The story opens in modern times and we learn that the protagonist, Felix, has suffered major losses in his life. First, his wife died and then his young daughter. Unexpectedly, he is forced out of his job as the artistic director of a successful theater group just as he was preparing to produce his own Tempest. A broken man, he takes up residence in a shack lacking most modern amenities and he wants revenge. His only companion is the imagined presence of his daughter. Twelve years later he has a part- time position teaching theater at a prison and, finally, the opportunity for revenge becomes a real possibility. Can he finally realize his dream?

The author has crafted an engrossing and beautifully written tale populated with memorable characters. Highly recommended.


I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. The opinions expressed are my own.


Leave a comment

Filed under BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s