Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You To Know

THINGS YOUR DOG Doesn’t Want YOU TO KNOW by Hy Conrad and Jeff Johnson
Art Direction by Dean Stefanides
Sourcebooks, Inc. 230 Pages

I usually give my opinion of a book that I am reviewing at the end of the review, but this time I will open with it. I found Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You To Know by Hy Conrad and Jeff Johnson to be everything a book should be. It is engaging, creative and memorable. Each of the 115 essays is presented in the words of one of eleven different dogs. After reading the first sentence of the first essay, as far as I was concerned, I believed I was listening to a dog.

I tried to pick a favorite dog or maybe a favorite essay. I found this to be impossible. I found all the canines to be irresistible and each essay is memorable. The dogs discuss a number of topics. In I Will Never Be Full, Orson, a Bulldog, readily admits he hasn’t been hungry since he was a week old. He’ll be happy only when he finally explodes. He fills his days checking his food bowl and takes delight in the two dinners he gets while his humans are mad at each other. Tinkerbell, a Chihuahua, discusses birthdays in You Can Forget My Birthday. She makes it clear that she doesn’t know when her birthday is and that dogs do not celebrate birthdays. “If you really want to know, we celebrate naps and escaping from the backyard and the death of cats.” She doesn’t want to appear ungrateful for her birthday party which was held in a tent. There were even cupcakes with lighted candles. However, all this led to the appearance of fire trucks.
Especially moving are the words from Sophie in I’m Not Irreplaceable. She eloquently says “Maybe I’m unique because I’m part of these memories you’ll never have again”.

There is a great deal more in this book and it is so worth reading. It is both humorous and touching. If a dog is a part of your life then you must read this book. If you are considering welcoming a dog into your life this book will help prepare you for what is to come. I came away wiser after reading this book. I highly recommend reading it.

I received this book free of charge through Review the Book and I give this review of my own free will.

Leave a comment

Filed under BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

